Garden Photographer of the Year 2010

  • 4 June 2021 4:56 pm


Garden Photographer of the Year 2010
International Garden Photographer of the Year opens with brand new format

The fourth International Garden Photographer of the Year competition opened for entries on 6th February 2010.

This year the competition has a brand new format – ‘4 Seasons’ – four seasonal competitions, based on specific themes, which allows photographers to win cash prizes throughout the year.

“We want people to rush out with their cameras when the weather is right and have fun working with our seasonal themes.” Says organizer Philip Smith

The first ‘4 Seasons’ competition is on the theme of ‘Winter Beauty’ with a closing date of February 28th. For more details on the other seasonal themes and deadlines visit the website –

Everyone who enters goes automatically through to the main International Garden Photographer of the Year competition with a closing date of
30th November 2010.

“The 4 Seasons competitions will widen the pool of people who can win prizes and recognition for their photography” says organizer Philip Smith, “and the International Garden Photographer of the Year award will be decided by judging points built up over the year – plus the awards they win during the final judging.

We are also pleased to be introducing ‘Wildflowers’ as a separate category this year. We will use this category in our exhibitions to highlight issues around the alarming disappearance of wild places – this affects everyone.”

The competition provides a treasure trove of ideas and inspiration for both aspiring and expert photographers who are encouraged, no matter what their level of experience, to enter this year’s competition. Exciting prizes include a top cash award of £5,000. Every entrant will benefit just from taking part as they will have access to a series of workshops and talks, online critiques of their photographs on request, plus ‘top tips’ available as downloads from the website – The competition culminates in a stunning exhibition at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew –

An entrant from the second competition stated:
"International Garden Photographer of the Year has been a great experience; the entry process was so well supported and the feedback was brilliant – I hadn’t anticipated how productive the whole competition experience would be. Thanks so much for the chance to be part of all that."

Photographers can enter any number of single photographs, or themed portfolios of six, into the competition’s six categories.

They are: Wildlife in the Garden, Plant Portraits, Garden Views, People in the Garden, Wildflowers, and Trees.

Budding photographers less than 16 years old can compete for the Young Garden Photographer of the Year Award.