THE Gardening WEBSITE
Cyclamen Society, The
Cyclamen Society, The
Address: Dr D Bent
Little Pilgrims
2 Pilgrims Way
East Otford
Sevenoaks
TN14 5QN
Email: Please Click Here
Website: Please Click Here
Description
What are Cyclamen?
Cyclamen are a genus of plants containing 20 species, which are part of the family of Primulaceae, the Primrose family. In the wild, their distribution is centred on the mediterranean, being natives of parts of Europe, western Asia and parts of North Africa. They are tuberous plants and have no obvious affinity with Primroses, although they do resemble the North American Dodecatheon in having reflexed petals.

Their habitats range from Fagus (Beech) woodland, through scrub and rocky areas, to alpine meadows where they flower in snow meltwater.
The genus is notable for the fact that although it is small, there are species which flower in every month of the year.

In cultivation, there are some species which are definitely hardy, some which are borderline, and a few species which will not tolerate any frost.
The genus also provides florists plants in the form of cultivars based on Cyclamen persicum. These are generally winter and spring flowering plants which are available in a wide range of colours.

What is the Cyclamen Society?
The Cyclamen Society exists to encourage cultivation and conservation, and to disseminate and extend knowledge of the genus Cyclamen and its species, forms and cultivars. It combines scientific study with all the activities of a society for enthusiasts who cultivate the plants.
The Society was formed in England in January 1977 and now has over 1600 members. Although it is based in the United Kingdom, it has a world-wide membership with nearly 20% from outside the UK, spread across Europe (9.7%), North America (5%), South America, South Africa, Australia (2.7%), New Zealand (1%), China, Japan (2.8%) and the countries of the former USSR.

The Cyclamen Society has no full time staff and like most similar organisations is run by volunteers. It is therefore important that correspondence is addressed to the correct officer or committee in order to save time and minimise the unnecessary involvement of others. Please also have patience and respect the fact that as there are no full time staff, the person you are trying to contact may be away or busy, but will reply as soon as they can.

Membership
If you would like to to join, you should complete and print out the Membership Application Form and send it together with your annual subscription (dues) to the Membership Secretary:

Arthur Nicholls,
'Little Orchard',
Church Road,
West Kingsdown,
Kent. TN15 6LG
United Kingdom.
Email: membership@cyclamen.org

General Matters
Honorary Secretary:- Martyn Denney secretary@cyclamen.org
Chairman of the Committee:- Melvyn Jope chairman@cyclamen.org
President:- Peter Moore president@cyclamen.org

To contact the society for any matter which is not covered by any other contact, email admin@cyclamen.org

Research Sub-committee
Chairman of the Research & Exploration Sub-committee:- Martyn Denney research@cyclamen.org
The Keeper of the Society's Herbarium:- Chris Clennett herbarium@cyclamen.org

International Registrar of Cultivar Names (excluding cultivars of C. persicum)
The Registrar:- Trevor Wiltshire registrar@cyclamen.org

Cyclamen Society Journal and Publications Sub-committee
Editor of the Journal:- Chris Clennett editor@cyclamen.org

Show Secretary and Shows Sub-committee
Show Secretary:- Pat Nicholls shows@cyclamen.org

Cyclamen-L
Matters concerning the management of the discussion list Cyclamen-L should be mailed to listowner@cyclamen.org

Information
If you have questions about Cyclamen which are not answered by these pages, you can email us at info@cyclamen.org

Web Site
If you have any comments about the web site or would like to report any problems, email the Webmaster webmaster@cyclamen.org